Sarkar Raj : Movie Review

I watched Sarkar Raj at Gold Adlabs Pune. And please notice that we had our tickets booked last Monday to catch the show. Well Gold Adlabs is worth the trouble because of its quality.

Now, the Movie. First thing, if you haven’t seen the Sarkar (first movie) then go watch it now. As a sequel, Sarkar Raj is no match to its prequel. As a standalone film, its good!! Second thing is I can’t help but compare the two movies. So bear it!! πŸ˜›
Few lines for people who have no idea about what Sarkar is about:
“Sarkar is a person who is not a mafia(but has many qualities of him), not a politician (but much politics is under his control) and not a social worker(but all people love him coz he helps people in his own style.. mostly killing).” As the famous dialog of film say, ” Sarkar is not a man, he a concept” (Sorry I am bad at translation of strong Hindi to English). Important thing is that “Sarkar” do only good things for Maharashtra. He want to see his state to take leaps of progress.
A foreign company approaches Maharashtra with a Electricity Company Project which needs much space(land). The movie starts with this and goes on, but remains focused on Sarkar and his life.

Now I should tell you if I liked film or not! Actually I am not sure about it. I liked the film because it has good actors and good dialogs. And I disliked film for its repeated and degraded soundtrack and Aishwarya. There was no need for Aishwarya. What an useless character who does nothing but listen to other men. Differences between Sarkar and Sarkar Raj are:

  • Background Music: In Sarkar first movie, music is helps greatly to the subject of movie where in Sarkar Raj it awfully irritates sometimes.
  • Camera and Cinematography: I don’t know whats RGV’s problem with simple frame. At the second half, sometimes all I was able to see was character’s face at corner of screen. Provided Adlabs big screen, it wasn’t much fun to find the face. (Thank god I was not in Imax)
  • Storyline:In Sarkar first movie , lot of things happen, slowly, but they do happen. And in Sarkar Raj, some stuff happens but its not enough for a movie. Story is more stretched than it was originally. Especially at end, I would have loved to watch Amitabh actually finding out the politics behind events happened rather than hearing it from him. He just tells things to Aishwarya who sits and cries. It would have been much better end if we had seen it in process of happenings.
  • Dialogs: Now, here I am not going to say a word against Sarkar Raj. Both movies have great dialogs and some deserve applause.

Overall, after pointing out bad things, I have some good points for film too. Even I can’t say I liked the film much, I suggest people to watch it if you can. Its a good piece of Ram Gopal Verma’s direction. Abhishek Bachchan (my favorite) has performed his best in this movie. He completely fits in the Sarkar’s personality and looks like perfect successor to his father(in movie) i.e. previous Sarkar. I liked the way he spoke about Maharashtra( I know its just a movie but I love when people say inspiring things about my country, my land).

Ohh and a marked-to-write-thing: Why the hell Aishwarya has to put too much of Lip-gloss? (word theft from Ruhi’s blog πŸ˜€ ) It distracted me twice from Abhishek’s dialogs. I got bored of it in instant as I hate fake beauty(not Aishwarya, in general. Well ok, I don’t like her too) and cosmetics.

I rate this movie 6/10.

Or say *** out of *****.

Cheers
Suda

Social Bookmarks:
20 thoughts on “Sarkar Raj : Movie Review

  1. Pingback: how to download free mp3 music

  2. *to support what u have written, abhishek is awesome, ash is Unh…. (words fail me as I dont want to be too rude)and am tired of amitabhi’s almost gone baritone voice…*
    copy paste of my comments on ruhi’s blog

    πŸ˜‰ (didnt want to type the same sentiments again)

    πŸ˜›

  3. 3rd review of Sarkar now, this is getting monotonous. Go read Ruhi’s blog again and find my comment there because it’s gonna be the same. πŸ˜›

  4. Good review Suda. And 6/10 is not bad at all I think. I too plan to see the movie as people are giving varying reviews. If there is one thing that prompts me to see a movie is if I read different reviews!

  5. I am going to look for a copy of Sarkar Raj and also The Sarkar right now.

    Hopefully I can find a subtitled version.

    Wish me luck and TY for the tip!

    PS. found The Sarkar. I will look for the sequel once I watch this one. Hopefully it has subtitles.

  6. ppl ar giving varying reviews about this one. some like it some dont. some just hate it, some love it !. (i kno all that sounds the same, but the reviews are defintely not).
    I guess it should be a good watch. after all we always admire ppl with great power and responsiblity.

  7. Poor Raum in trouble again.. last time everyone compared Aag with the Original Aag and even with OSO… now, with the original Sarkar… πŸ˜›

  8. Sakhi
    πŸ˜€

    Reema
    Go and watch the movie πŸ˜› I gave it 6/10 see

    Ish
    Good! I read it twice for you!!

    Nita
    Hmm, waiting for your review. I am sure you will agree with me on that climax part.

    CanOpener
    Best of luck πŸ™‚ And it will have subtitles for sure, Ram Gopal Verma is pure professional and will release film there!!!

    Xylene
    Yes, I think it is one time watch for sure!

    Dinu
    πŸ˜€ I already said, I can’t help but compare. πŸ˜› poor RGV πŸ˜›

  9. Ahh…Ash’s lipgloss distracted me quite a bit too. It over powered everything else on the screen…even AB baby. πŸ˜› OK, jokes apart, I liked some dialogues-

    1. Killing someone is crime, but killing someone at the right time is politics.
    2. The dialogue you mentioned.
    3. Many more that I don’t remember, thanks to my deteriorating Hindi.

    So, when did Gold Adlabs open in Pune?And in which area man? Need to go there the next time I go to Pune! In fact, I should see you if you’re there. πŸ™‚

  10. Ruhi
    I don’t know when it opened. By the time I came to Pune, it was there. πŸ˜€
    And take my word, its best multiplex in Pune (I am talking about movie quality πŸ˜› )

    I am going to collect these dialogs!! May be then we can let people hear what we liked πŸ™‚

  11. Nice review. This is the third one I am reading, including mine. πŸ˜›
    Well, one common thing is that no one has trashed the movie. πŸ™‚

  12. Amit
    Yes Movie is not trashable but also not a must watch either. People can wait for DVD if they are lazy enough to get out of bed. Its ok for this movie.

  13. The presence of Ash in the movie is reason enough to keep me OFF it.

    p.s.- Hey, pass the Ash-tray please!!!!

    πŸ˜€

  14. Yeah, the version I have downloaded from the internet had no subtitles (the first one,the Sarkar, I couldnt find the second one yet)

    I tried to watch it anyway but I ended up completely lost.

    I do like how it seems like a old school classic action movie, with the fight sound effects, and also the bad guys seem really bad and the good guys are really good.

    I just wish for subtitles. :^(

  15. I absolutely HATED this movie!! Bah! What a waste of time and money! No story, no acting, its only stupid theatrics and fancy camera work and weird background scores… πŸ˜€

  16. Hey, nice review. And I am off to watch this movie. πŸ˜‰

    And yes, I have tagged you and added you on my blogroll. So you are requied to visit me soon.:)

  17. I didn’t like it…as a stand alone movie too. RGV is losing his mettle…though I loved Aamir released on the same day…Aish was wasted..and why did they kill Abhishek? I am sure they gonna make a 3rd one with Aish being the SARKAR or the little boy cheeku as sARKAR! hmmmm

Leave a Reply

