(No) Wind of change

Warning: Stupid Rant Post!! Rant!! Rant!! Read at your own risk!!

Prologue (You can skip this grayed part and jump to main text below)

Sometimes, I just feel like standing alone, looking at the Sunset, taking the evening breeze on my face….. Today was one such day or you can say, such evening😉 ….

I went up on the terrace of my company building, alone. It was nearly empty except two guys standing in a corner smoking, chatting, having their evening tea. I chose the extreme corner away from those people, towards my dear Sun who was spreading soft evening light on the landscape. Sunset always moves me. I always end up thinking about past, present, future, life and all such crap.😦 Today was not different.

Thinking/musing sessions like today’s sunset trip to terrace bring out the worst and the best cooking inside my mind-pot. One very common feeling I keep getting is ‘being lonely’. Yeah, the usual stuff. People leaving me, me leaving people etc etc. And as if it was not enough, things started going haywire in my professional life. Opportunities eluded me, they just slipped out of my hand just like sand slips from your hand when you to hold on too tight. So, I decided to stand in front of the mighty Sun, looking at the spectacular sunset and just sort out what is happening with me……

A view from terrace of my office building

I was standing on the terrace alone, looking at the setting Sun. For first time, I realized how far I can see from there. I tried to take in the whole landscape and noticed something else in the process. Exactly opposite to the Sun, on the East horizon, I saw the nearly full moon coming up. While somewhere in the west, I saw a kite floating in the air. I looked up and found a eagle, flying alone, high in the sky, so high that it looked a little bigger than a moth. Cool, I thought. At least for the moment, I was part of the great loner’s club.

Eagles fly and hunt alone. Sun and Moon have no friends, and no choices😀 . And the kite, the kite is the poorest of all. It has no control on its own life. Someone literally controls the strings of his life. It is at the mercy of the wind and the controller of the string. Normally, I would have tried to relate my own life to one of these things and felt bad. But this time it was different.

I realized how good and simple my life is (right now). I do not have any problems from any side at the moment. I have a good job (and sufficient salary), good health for family, a lot of good friends, good (and some pretty😛 )colleagues etc etc. There is nothing that can be counted as bad. Only thing that I have to do is: not to think about things I don’t have or I can’t have. It is that simple.

As soon as I arrived on this thinking station, I stopped thinking and started actually looking at the beautiful sunset. There was no wind at all for some time which I had not realized. The moment I thought about wind, there came a soft breeze of evening air. Somebody must be listening to my thoughts. I said goodbye to the Sun and welcomed the moon. The kite was still floating in the air and there was another one alongside it. The eagle was gone, he must be heading back home. I took the cue and descended the stairs.

Sunsets always set me thinking. This time, it diverted me from excessive thinking. I was hoping for some change in my life, something new. I still am hoping for it. But now I don’t want wish for a wind of change, I just wish for simple breeze and some rain.

Cheers.

One thought on “(No) Wind of change

Leave a Reply

